India vs New Zealand Cricket Series 2010


latest cricket

ICC Champions Trophy 2017

India vs Pakistan FINAL

Sunday 18 June 17 @ The Oval
Match scheduled to begin at 10:30 local time (09:30 GMT)


New Zealand in India, 2010 ODI Series

India vs New Zealand, 5th ODI, Chennai, 10 December 2010

Chennai ODI: New Zealand bites the dust, IND-NZL:5-0(5)

Gautam Gambhir hailed offspinner R Ashwin as the find of the one-day series against New Zealand and praised the professionalism of his side after India beat the visitors by eight wickets in the fifth and final ODI in Chennai to sweep the series 5-0. The visitors were all out for 103 in 27 overs, with Scott Styris and Jamie How top-scoring with 24 and 23 respectively.Batsman Yuvraj Singh was voted man of the match for a fine performance with both bat and ball, while also taking two catches. Singh (42) and opener Parthiv Patel (56) steered the home side to a comfortable triumph in 21.1 overs, putting on 97 for the third wicket, after India lost two quick wickets for 10 runs. Captain Gautam Gambhir was named man of the series, as he averaged more than 100 in the five games, thanks to unbeaten centuries in games two and three. This is the second time that the Indian cricket team has registered a white wash in a five one day international series.
India 107 for 2 (Parthiv 56, Yuvraj 42) beat New Zealand 103 (Styris 24, Ashwin, 3-24, Yuvraj 2-5, Nehra 2-34) by eight wickets

India vs New Zealand, 4th ODI, Bangalore, 7 December 2010

Bangalore ODI: Pathan powers India to a thrilling win‎, IND-NZL:4-0(5)

India chased down Black Caps 315/7 to win the fourth ODI in Bangalore and take a 4-0 lead in the five match series. With this loss, the Black Caps succumbed to their 10th straight loss in one day international cricket. Irfan Pathan single-handedly engineered India's five-wicket win by taking three crucial wickets and scoring an unbeaten 96-ball 123 down the order - his maiden one-day international century. He and Saurabh Tiwary duly took their team to their target with seven balls to spare after sharing an outstanding partnership of 133 runs for the sixth wicket. It was the highest successful run chase in Bangalore. James Franklin earlier hit an unbeaten 98 from 69 balls to lead New Zealand to 315/7 after being sent into bat.
India 321 for 5 (Pathan 123*, Patel 53) beat New Zealand 315 for 7 (Franklin 98*, Pathan 3-49) by five wickets

India vs New Zealand, 3rd ODI, Vadodara, 4 December 2010

Vadodara ODI: Gambhir ton seals series win, IND-NZL:3-0(5)

Gautam Gambhir hit a second successive century as India thrashed New Zealand by nine wickets to take an unassailable 3-0 lead in their five-match series. India lost Murali Vijay for 30 but cantered to victory in 39.3 overs, with Gambhir smashing 126 not out. Virat Kohli (63 not out) hit the winning runs with a six over long-on.
India 229 for 1 (Gambhir 126*, Kohli 63*) beat New Zealand 224 for 9 (Franklin 72*, Yusuf 2-27, Zaheer 2-31) by nine wickets

India vs New Zealand, 2nd ODI, Jaipur, 1 December 2010

Jaipur ODI: Gambhir, Sreesanth power India to victory, IND-NZL:2-0(5)

Stand-in captain Gautam Gambhir scored an unbeaten century (138 off 116 balls) as a second string Indian side beat New Zealand by eight wickets in the second one-day international in Jaipur. Chasing a competitive 259 to win, the home team eased through with seven overs to spare.
India 259 for 2 (Gambhir 138*, Kohli 64) beat New Zealand 258 for 8 (Guptill 70, Styris 59, Sreesanth 4-47) by eight wickets

New Zealand in India, 2010 Test Series

India vs New Zealand, 3rd Test, Nagpur, Nov 20-24

Nagpur Test, day four: India beat New Zealand comprehensively, IND-NZL:1-0(3)

India won the 3rd and final Test match by an innings and 198 runs, handing New Zealand their fifth heaviest innings defeat in history, at Nagpur. It was also India's third-biggest win. New Zealand were all out for 175 in their second innings. The hosts won the three-match series 1-0 after the first two tests ended in draws.
India 566 for 8 dec. (Dravid 191, Dhoni 98, Gambhir 78, Sehwag 74) beat New Zealand 193 (Ryder 59, Ishant 4-43, Ojha 3-57) and 175 (Ishant 3-15, Harbhajan 3-56) by an innings and 198 runs

Nagpur Test, day three: India take total control

Rahul Dravid and skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni's 193-runs partnership for the sixth wicket helped India bat New Zealand out of the third and final Test at Nagpur. Resuming the day at 292-2, India lost overnight half centurion Sachin Tendulkar (61), V.V.S. Laxman (12) and Suresh Raina (three) in the morning session, but Rahul Dravid notched up his 31st Test century, while skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni scored a half century as India took a massive lead of 373 runs before declaring.New Zealand lost opener Tim McIntosh late in the third session, ending the day at 24/1.
New Zealand 193 and 24 for 1 (Harbhajan 1-9) trail India 566/8 decl (Dravid 191, Dhoni 98) by 349 runs

Nagpur Test, day two: India batsmen dominate New Zealand

India have taken control of the third and decisive final Test against New Zealand thanks to impressive displays from their top-order batsmen. Having bowled out the tourists for 193, Gautam Gambhir (78), Virender Sehwag (74), Rahul Dravid (69) and Sachin Tendulkar (57) all hit half centuries to help India to 292-2. Sachin Tendulkar will resume against New Zealand on Monday needing 43 runs for his 50th Test century.The Black Caps started the day on 148 for seven and their hopes of building a score in excess of 200 were dealt an important blow inside the opening half hour when Ishant Sharma removed Brendon McCullum. Paceman Ishant Sharma was the pick of the bowlers, taking 4-43 while Pragyan Ojha took 3-57.
India 292 for 2 (Gambhir 78, Sehwag 74, Dravid 69*, Tendulkar 57*) lead New Zealand 193 (McCullum 40, Southee 38, Ishant 4-43) by 99 runs

Nagpur Test, day one: Bowlers put India in the driver's seat

Indian bowlers worked in tandem on Saturday to leave New Zealand tottering at 148 for seven after they elected to bat first in the third and final Test match being played at Nagpur’s Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium. Sreesanth started the proceedings for India by sending the opening batsmen Martin Guptill (six) and Tim McIntosh (four) back to the pavilion with the team score on 2-16. He finished with the figures of 2-20 in nine overs, Ishant finished with 2-32 in 13 overs, while Ojha had figures of 2-49 in 19 overs when bad light stopped play 20 minutes before scheduled close of play on day one.
New Zealand 148 for 7 (Ryder 59, McCullum 34*, Sreesanth 2-20, Ishant 2-32) v India

India vs New Zealand, 2nd Test, Hyderabad, Nov 12-16

Hyderabad Test, day five: India - New Zealand cricket Test ends in draw, IND-NZL:0-0(3)

Brendon McCullum hit a career-best 225 on Tuesday to help New Zealand to 448/8 and draw the second Test against India, leaving the series locked at 0-0 going into the final Test. Chasing an improbable 327-run target, Virender Sehwag (54) and Gautam Gambhir (14) were the not out batsmen as India reached 68/0 in its second innings when stumps were called. New Zealand scored 350 in their first innings but India through Harbhajan Singh's unbeaten 111 (116b 7x4, 7x6) and Sehwag's 96 (120b, 15x4, 1x6) took a 122 run lead. The first Test at Ahmedabad also ended in a draw. The third and the last Test begins Nov 20 at Nagpur.
New Zealand 350 (McIntosh 102, Guptill 85, Zaheer 4-69) and 448 for 8 decl. (McCullum 225, Williamson 69) drew with India 472 (Harbhajan 111, Sehwag 96, Vettori 5-135) and 68 for 0 (Sehwag 54*)

Hyderabad Test, day four: NZ openers wipe off lead after Harbhajan's 111 not out

New Zealand were 237/4 when stumps were drawn on day four at Uppal in Hyderabad on Monday. They have a lead of 115 runs with 6 wickets remaining, after the openers put on 124 runs for the first wicket, with McIntosh scoring 49 and McCullum going on to make an unbeaten century. He was on 124 not out at stumps. Earlier, Daniel Vettori's five wicket haul stopped an Indian mayhem but not before Harbahajan Singh had given India a substantial lead with his unbeaten hundred. Sreesanth and Harbhajan Singh added 86 runs for the last wicket. Harbhajan Singh became the first No.8 batsman to score consecutive centuries in Test cricket and guided India to 472 in the first innings.
New Zealand 350 and 237 for 4 (McCullum 124*) lead India 472 (Harbhajan 111*, Sehwag 96, Laxman 74, Vettori 5-135) by 115 runs

Hyderabad Test, day three: Harbhajan Singh powers India into lead over Kiwis

Harbhajan, fresh from scores of 69 and 115 in the drawn first Test, thrashed an unbeaten 85 from 82 balls with the help of five sixes and seven fours to add 69 runs for the unfinished last wicket with Shanthakumaran Sreesanth (14 not out). VVS Laxman had earlier made 74 as India closed on 436-9, leading by 86. The Kiwis, who scored a first-innings 350, had started strongly after tea, removing the dangerous Venkatsai Laxman and captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni in successive overs. The wristy right-hander, playing the first Test at his home ground in a 14-year career, hit 11 boundaries in his 160-ball knock and shared 75 runs for the fourth wicket with Rahul Dravid (45).
India 436 for 9 (Harbhajan 85*, Laxman 74, Vettori 4-123) lead New Zealand 350 by 86 runs

Hyderabad Test, day two: India end day two on 178/2

Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir put on an opening stand of 160 as India reached 178 for two in reply to New Zealand's first-innings score of 350 on the second day of the second test. Rahul Dravid and Sachin Tendulkar were the not out batsmen at the close on Saturday after both openers departed in quick succession. Sehwag (96) and Gambhir (54) built on the good work of bowlers Zaheer Khan and Harbhajan Singh, who finished with four wickets each as India took the last six New Zealand wickets for only 92 runs this morning.
India 178 for 2 (Sehwag 96, Gambhir 54) trail New Zealand 350 (Ryder 70, Zaheer 4-69, Harbhajan 4-76) by 172 runs

Hyderabad Test, day one: New Zealand finish day one at 258/4 against India

New Zealand ended the first day of the second cricket Test against India at 258 for four at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad on Friday. Jesse Ryder (22) and Gareth Hopkins (0) saw the New Zealand team to the end after the fall of centurion Tim McIntosh (102), who was bowled by Zaheer Khan (2-41) an over before stumps.
New Zealand 258 for 4 (McIntosh 102, Guptill 85, Zaheer 2-41) v India

India vs New Zealand, 1st Test, Ahmedabad, Nov 4-8

Ahmedabad Test, day five: Harbhajan Singh's century helps India pull off a draw against New Zealand in the 1st Test, IND-NZL:0-0(3)

Harbahjan Singh scored his first ever century in international cricket against New Zealand today, saving India from defeat and also earning the 'Player of the Match' title. After India's batting line-up collapsed, with seven of the batsmen getting only single-digit scores, Laxman and Harbhajan took India's total which was at one time 15/5 to 228/7. VVS Laxman also helped India's score with 91 runs before he fell LBW to Vettori even after he got a thick inside edge on a forward defensive poke. Zaheer Khan also left in a similar fashion in the very next ball, with umpire Steve Davis playing the kill joy. However, Harbhajan shrugged off the double setback by waltzing down the wicket to launch Vettori over wide long-off for six and reach his century in the ultimate style. It came from 165 balls with 10 fours and two sixes. New Zealand scored 22 runs for loss of a wicket in 10 overs in their second innings. Zaheer removed Tim McIntosh for a duck, the Black Caps opener completing an unwelcome pair.All eyes now on the 2nd test that will take place at Hyderabad from Nov 12 to 16.
India 487 and 266 (Martin 5-31, Harbhajan 115, Laxman 91) draw against New Zealand 459 (Williamson 131, Ryder 103, McCullum 65, Taylor 56) and 22/1

Ahmedabad Test, day four: Five-for Martin helps New Zealand wrest initiative

New Zealand pacer Chris Martin bowled superbly on an unhelpful pitch to demolish the top order and leave India with a fragile lead of 110 and six wickets down in their second innings on Sunday. His victims included Sachin Tendulkar as he took 5-25 to leave the home side on 82-6 at the end of the fourth day's play, a lead of only 110 runs.
Earlier, 20-year-old Kane Williamson became the youngest New Zealander to score a century on his Test debut. He made 131 out of a total of 459, Pragyan Ojha taking 4-107 for India.
India 487 and 82 for 6 (Martin 5-31) lead New Zealand 459 (Williamson 131, Ryder 103, McCullum 65, Taylor 56) by 110 runs

Ahmedabad Test, day three: New Zealand's Jesse Ryder & Kane Williamson defy India

Jesse Ryder (103) and newcomer Kane Williamson (87*) led a brave New Zealand fightback on day three of the first Test against India in Ahmedabad. The Kiwis were 137-4 when the pair came together but added 194 to see their side to 331-5 at the close.
New Zealand 331 for 5 (Ryder 103, Williamson 87*, McCullum 65, Taylor 56) trail India 487 by 156 runs

Ahmedabad Test, day two: Harbhajan's 69 Lifts India against New Zealand

Tailender Harbhajan Singh struck a career-best 69 before India picked up two early wickets to put New Zealand under pressure on the second day of the first Test on Friday. Harbhajan slammed three sixes and five fours in his 97-ball knock to steer India's first innings to 487 after the hosts had been reduced to 412-8 on a deteriorating wicket at the Sardar Patel Stadium in Ahmedabad.In the two hours to stumps, the tourists responded with 69 for two, with Brendon McCullum to resume tomorrow on 38 alongside vice-captain Ross Taylor on 18.
New Zealand 69 for 2 trail India 487 (Sehwag 173, Dravid 104, Harbhajan 69) by 418 runs

Ahmedabad Test, day one: Virender Sehwag and Rahul Dravid put India in charge

Indian opening batsman Virender Sehwag and Rahul Dravid scored centuries and shared a 237-run second wicket partnership to dominate the opening day of the first Test against New Zealand on Thursday. Sehwag made 173 before being bowled by Black Caps skipper Daniel Vettori, while Dravid contributed 104 as India reached 329-3 at stumps. Sachin Tendulkar (13) and VVS Laxman (7) were not out at the close.
India 329 for 3 (Sehwag 173, Dravid 104) v New Zealand

India New Zealand Cricket News

Comprehensive Cricket News, Latest Information and Live ball-by-ball Commentary.
India vs New Zealand Cricket Series 2010

India vs New Zealand Cricket Series 2010

New Zealand will play 3 Tests and 5 ODIs during the India tour starting Nov 4, 2010.

Get the latest news of New Zealand's 2010 India Tour →

New Zealand In India, 2010

3 test matches, 5 ODIs, Nov-Dec 2010

Schedule Match Venue
Thu Nov 4 - Mon Nov 8
04:00 GMT | 09:30 local 00:00 EDT | 22:00 CST -1d | 21:00 PDT -1d
1st Test - India vs New Zealand Sardar Patel Stadium, Motera, Ahmedabad
Fri Nov 12 - Tue Nov 16
04:00 GMT | 09:30 local 23:00 EST -1d | 22:00 CST -1d | 20:00 PST -1d
2nd Test - India vs New Zealand Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Uppal, Hyderabad
Sat Nov 20 - Wed Nov 24
04:00 GMT | 09:30 local 23:00 EST -1d | 22:00 CST -1d | 20:00 PST -1d
3rd Test - India vs New Zealand Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Jamtha, Nagpur
Sun Nov 28
03:00 GMT | 08:30 local 22:00 EST -1d | 21:00 CST -1d | 19:00 PST -1d
1st ODI - India vs New Zealand Nehru Stadium, Guwahati
Wed Dec 1
09:00 GMT | 14:30 local 04:00 EST | 03:00 CST | 01:00 PST
2nd ODI - India vs New Zealand Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur
Sat Dec 4
03:30 GMT | 09:00 local 22:30 EST -1d | 21:30 CST -1d | 19:30 PST -1d
3rd ODI - India vs New Zealand Reliance Stadium, Vadodara
Tue Dec 7
09:00 GMT | 14:30 local 04:00 EST | 03:00 CST | 01:00 PST
4th ODI - India vs New Zealand M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore
Fri Dec 10
09:00 GMT | 14:30 local 04:00 EST | 03:00 CST | 01:00 PST
5th ODI - India vs New Zealand MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.