India in New Zealand Cricket Series 2014 News

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

India in New Zealand 2014

19 January to 18 February 2014

India to play 2 Tests, 5 ODIs

India will tour New Zealand for a month in mid-January, 2014, for five ODIs and two Tests, with the first One Day International to be played on January 19 and the second Test ending on February 18.
India vs New Zealand Cricket Series 2014


India vs New Zealand One Day Internationals

India lose yet another overseas series. It is 0-4(5/5) this time!

New Zealand defeated India by 87 runs in the final ODI to complete a 4-0 drubbing. The ODI World Champions are yet to taste a win in 2014 after two overseas series and seven games. Only Virat Kohli (291 runs, including one century and two half-centuries with a highest score of 123, at an average of 58.20 and strike rate of 102.46) and skipper MS Dhoni (272 runs, including three half-centuries with a highest score of 79*, at an average of 68 and strike rate of 92.20) stood up to the Kiwi bowlers in the ODIs, while Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane struggled throughout the series. India's best performance in the series (314/9) was to tie the third match at Auckland, thanks to Ravindra Jadeja (145 runs, including two half-centuries with a highest score of 66*, at an average of 48.33 and strike rate of 125). They dropped from the first to second in the ICC one-day rankings as Australia snatched the #1 position. New Zealand meanwhile raised their standing from a modest eighth to seventh.

India's highest partnership for any wicket was 127* (MS Dhoni and Ravindra Jadeja at Hamilton in the 4th ODI for the 6th wicket. Their best bowling performance came from Mohammed Shami who took 11 wickets from 44 overs spread across 5 ODIs, giving away 316 runs.

New Zealand Test team

Kiwis Name Unchanged Squad

New Zealand made no changes to the twelve players who won the second and third Tests against the West Indies last month with the 29-year-old Jesse Ryder added as cover for Ross Taylor. In March last year, "bad boy" Ryder suffered a fractured skull and was placed in an induced coma in hospital after being beaten up outside a bar.

New Zealand Test squad against India: Brendon McCullum (Capt.), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Peter Fulton, Hamish Rutherford, Jesse Ryder, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling (wk), Kane Williamson

ODI team: Yuvraj Singh dropped, Stuart Binny makes cut

Batting line-up remains more or less the same

Indian selectors dropped batsman Yuvraj Singh from the squad for the five-match One-Day International series against New Zealand starting on January 19 in Napier. 29-year-old Stuart Binny, son of former Indian all-rounder Roger Binny, will take his place in the ODI squad. The pace-heavy ODI bowling team will be spearheaded by Ishant Sharma as Zaheer Khan has not been named for the five-match ODI series.

Ishwar Pandey coming in place of Pragyan Ojha was the only change made to the 17-member Test squad that did duty in the two-Test series in South Africa.

India ODI squad for New Zealand: MS Dhoni (Captain & Wicket Keeper), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Ambati Rayudu, Suresh Raina, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Amit Mishra, Ishwar Pandey, Stuart Binny, Varun Aaron
India Test squad for New Zealand: MS Dhoni (Captain & Wicket Keeper), Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Zaheer Khan, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Ambati Rayudu, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha, Ishwar Pandey

Past Series

New Zealand in India Cricket Series 2012

New Zealand to play two Test matches and two Twenty20 Internationals

New Zealand will play two Test matches and two Twenty20 Internationals (T20Is) in India as part of their preparations for the ICC World T20 in September in Sri Lanka. The series will start with a Test match on 23 August 2012 and will end with a T20I on 11 September 2012.

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.